Repairing a MacBook Pro 13″ (2009)

I was tasked w/repairing a MacBook Pro 13″ (2009).

For future reference I will list the following sources of information:

Problem

The computer would not longer boot beyond the Apple logo & spinning progress circle.

Procedure

  1. I booted from the OS X Install DVD.
  2. I ran Disk Utility, selected the internal drive, and clicked the “Repair Disk” button. After repairing several errors successfully it reported that it could not repair the disk.
  3. I backed up the contents of the hard drive. (I imaged the internal hard drive to an external HD for safekeeping.)
Leave a Reply

